The WEFTA award 2023

Every year at the conference dinner, the WEFTA award is presented. An annual award will be given to a WEFTA scientist who has contributed significantly and outstanding to the fields of seafood processing, seafood product development, seafood analytical methods, seafood safety, applied seafood science, seafood technology, seafood nutrition, aquaculture or consumer studies related to seafood.

The WEFTA award will be presented at the conference dinner on Wednesday 18th October 2023 by the chairperson of the Award Committee.

The WEFTA award selection committee 2023 consist of the following previous award winners:

  • John Fagan (2022)
  • Mercedes Careche (2019)
  • Flemming Jessen (2018)
  • Turid Rustad (2017)
  • Francoise Leroi (2016)

Nomination candidates for WEFTA award 2023

Anyone affiliated with a WEFTA member institute may nominate a person for the WEFTA award. The special nomination form found on the WEFTA homepage must be filled in as instructed. The form shall include the candidate’s name, title, current affiliation, most significant contributions as listed in the above qualifications criteria. The nomination form shall include the name of the nominating WEFTA individual member. Click here to visit the nomination form. The submission of the nominees is now open. Submit your candidatie before the 1st of October 2023.